This formal 16-acre park was named for Kentucky’s first governor, Isaac Shelby.
In the early 1900’s, the neighborhood that would eventually contain Shelby Park was the location for a factory for Hiller and Bradsbury Co.’s Louisville Slugger baseball bat. It was in this heavily working class neighborhood that Mayor Paul Barth noted the large need for a park in the area. In order to begin the development of a park, Mayor Barth personally purchased 11.4 acres in 1907 until the Board of Parks Commissioners could purchase the land. The Board of Parks Commissioners did purchase the land, and also received donations of land, bringing the total acreage of the park to 16 acres.
The park was named for the first governor of Kentucky, Isaac Shelby. It was designed in by the Olmsted Firm in 1907 and is the only park in Louisville designed in conjunction with a Carnegie library. The other important feature is that the park was designed when the need for areas for sport and recreation were paramount in park design, moving away from quiet contemplation and reflection.
By 1910 the park became incredibly popular. It eventually was the site of large track and tennis meets, sometimes to crows of up to a thousand spectators. It included hard sand croquet courts, tennis courts, separate gymnasiums for men and women, gymnastic apparatus, a pole vaulting area, and some basketball courts. The War Recreation Board, replacing a smaller wadding pool, installed a large pool in the park in 1918 which stayed until the 2008.
Today the park enjoys a splash pad, playground, basketball, and iconic bandstand.
Key Features & Amenities
- Community Center
- Picnic Shelter
- Picnic Table